Mohammed Shami: Mohammed Shami was India's most successful bowler in the ICC ODI World Cup 2023. Mohammed Shami took 24 wickets in the World Cup and played a key role in India reaching the final. But even after such a spectacular performance, Mohammed Shami has not been included in the team for the T20 International and ODI series against South Africa. Apart from this, he has got a chance in the Test team, but there is a star in front of his name. The squad for the South Africa tour has been announced after a meeting of selectors in Delhi on Thursday.

India are scheduled to play three T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests in South Africa. While Suryakumar Yadav has been given the command of T20 Internationals, KL Rahul will captain in the ODI format. While Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma had sought a break for the white-ball series and their request has been accepted. Rohit and Virat are returning to the team for the Test series. If we talk about Mohammed Shami, then he has got a chance in the Test series. But there has been no chance in the ODI and T20 series.

One of the reasons for Mohammed Shami's absence is believed to be that due to workload management, the fast bowler has not got a place in the team for the T20 and ODI series. Apart from this, Mohammed Shami is undergoing treatment and whether Shami will play in the Test series or not will be decided after seeing his fitness. In a press release issued by the BCCI regarding the team selection, it is mentioned about Shami that Shami is currently undergoing medical treatment and his availability is dependent on fitness.

According to news agency PTI, it is understood that fast bowler Mohammed Shami will be given a chance to get fit before the Test series starting in the last week of December. "Shami's injury is not very serious at the moment and hence he has been kept in the team. Prasidh Krishna has been included in the team as his cover."

The Indian team is as follows:

India's T20I squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Verma, Suryakumar Yadav (c), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Jitesh Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India's ODI squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudarshan, Tilak Verma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India's Test squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Lokesh Rahul, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna.

Also read: T20 World Cup 2024: World Cup will be played in this format, 20 teams will participate, know full details

Also read: "I haven't signed the contract yet..." Rahul Dravid takes a big statement about second term