Will Rohit Sharma lead the Indian T20 team?

New Delhi:

The BCCI's top brass will also try to convince Rohit Sharma to take charge of the T20 squad before announcing the three-format squad for the tour of South Africa here on Thursday. Rohit has not been captaining this format since losing in the semi-finals of the T20 World Cup last year. BCCI secretary and selection committee coordinator Jay Shah will meet committee chairman Ajit Agarkar in the national capital to discuss the three formats of the squad as well as chalk out a roadmap for next year's T20 World Cup.

With T20 regular captain Hardik Pandya unable to make a comeback for the next one month due to an injury, the BCCI has no option but to retain Suryakumar Yadav as captain or hand over the responsibility to Rohit. Rohit had earlier said that he does not want to play in the T20 format at the international level but the way he captained in the recent ODI World Cup, the BCCI feels that he should also take over the captaincy of this shorter format till the T20 World Cup to be held in June-July next year.

"The question still remains as to what will happen when Hardik returns, but the BCCI believes that if Rohit agrees to take over the t20 lead, he will remain the captain till the next T20 World Cup. If Rohit does not agree, then Suryakumar will captain the T20 series in South Africa.

It is important to mention that Virat Kohli has sought a break from the limited-overs series in South Africa. As far as Kohli is concerned, it will depend on his performance in the IPL. The same will apply to KL Rahul. The second question is related to workload management as India have to play six limited-overs matches within 11 days. These include three ODIs which he has to play within five days. Within five days, the Test series will start on December 26.

As far as the Test team is concerned, Rahul and Shreyas Iyer will return. Ajinkya Rahane can be dropped while there is little chance of Cheteshwar Pujara's return. Even if Rahul takes over the responsibility of wicketkeeper, then Rahane will be able to make a place in the team only in this situation. Jasprit Bumrah is also keen to play Test cricket and will take charge of the fast bowling department along with Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur. Mukesh Kumar can be kept as a reserve fast bowler.

Ravindra Jadeja will be the first choice spinner as usual in overseas conditions. Ravichandran Ashwin and Akshar Patel or Kuldeep Yadav will be selected to accompany him. Wicketkeeper Kona Bharat has had a very disappointing performance in batting and he can be selected only if Rahul does not take over the responsibility of wicketkeeping.