IPL 2018: Hardik Patel joins Mumbai Indians

Gujarat Titans retained their main all-rounder Hardik Pandya as captain for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL 2024) season. This almost ended speculation about him joining Mumbai Indians ahead of the auction on December 19. But shortly after this, Mumbai Indians have traded Pandya and included him in their team. Although it has not been officially announced yet, but according to sources, this has been revealed.

That explains it now. Cameron Green in an all-cash deal to @RCBTweets and Hardik Pandya, with the money released, to @mipaltan. So RCB batting will be Faf, Virat, Green, Patidar, Maxwell, DK. MI will be Rohit, Ishan, Sky, Tilak, Hardik, David. https://t.co/7WIVilZTGO

— Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha) November 26, 2023

Also read: 'World Cup final exposed many flaws of Indian team', Manjrekar sheds light on many aspects

This news came as a shock to many fans as Pandya's name was included in the retention list released by Gujarat Titans on Sunday. On November 26, the IPL franchise submitted its retention list to the BCCI. In which Hardik's name is still in the Gujarat team but many reports claimed that Pandya has now returned to Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians (MI) has paid a hefty amount to Hardik for this. Hardik has been taken back into his team by Mumbai by making a full cash deal. The trading window will close on December 12.

During this time, players of IPL franchises can be exchanged. Pandya joined Gujarat Titans as the captain in the year 2022 and led him to the title in the first season itself, besides Hardik's captaincy, Gujarat also reached the final of IPL 2023 where Dhoni's team CSK defeated Gujarat.

Gujarat Titans

: David Miller, Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Wriddhiman Saha, Kane Williamson, Abhinav Manohar, Sai Sudarshan, Darshan Nalkande, Vijay Shankar, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmed, Sai Kishore, Rashid Khan, Joshua Little, Mohit Sharma.

Released players: Yash Dayal, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Urvil Patel, Pradeep Sangwan, Oden Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Dasun Shanaka.

Hardik Pandya- Traded for Mumbai Indians (according to sources)

Mumbai Indians

: Rohit Sharma, Devald Brevis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Tilak Verma, Ramandeep Singh, Tim David, Tristan Stubbs, Vishnu Vinod, Arjun Tendulkar, Jofra Archer, Mohammad Arshad Khan, Cameron Green, Shams Mulani, Nehal Wadra, Duane Johnson, Romario Shepherd (from Lucknow).

Released Players: Jasprit Bumrah, Chris Jordan, Hrithik Shokeen, Riley Meredith, Jhye Richardson, Kumar Karthikeya, Piyush Chawla, Sandeep Warrier, Aakash Madhwal, Jason Behrendorff, Raghav Goel.