In Rajasthan, senior leaders of the BJP-Congress started contacting rebels and independents before the results.

Rajasthan Assembly Results 2023: Ahead of the counting of votes in Rajasthan, senior BJP-Congress leaders have started contacting rebel and strong independent candidates. The counting of votes in the state will take place on December 199. Earlier, the ruling Congress and the bjp's ruling party have started reaching out to rebel and strong-looking independent candidates. The counting of votes for the 1862-member Rajasthan Assembly will take place on Sunday. A total of <>,<> candidates are in the fray for these seats.

Independents and rebels will be kingmakers if they don't get majority

Both the major parties in the state have made all preparations to ensure that independent and rebel candidates who win the elections come to their camp. If the exit polls are to be believed, this time there is a tough fight between the Congress and the BJP in the state. If no one party gets a majority, the role of independents and rebel candidates will become important.

40 BJP-Congress leaders join BJP

In this assembly election, there are about 40 candidates of both parties who have contested as rebels after not getting the party ticket. Jaipur: Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot met Governor Kalraj Mishra on Thursday after the exit polls. The next day, on Friday, former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje also met the Governor.

While most exit polls have predicted an edge for the BJP in the state, three exit polls have predicted a Congress victory. However, leaders of both the Congress and the BJP have claimed to form the government of their own party.

Congress sources exuded confidence that the party will form the government again, saying "party leaders are in touch with independents and rebel candidates". Similarly, sources in the BJP also said that the leaders are reaching out to party rebels who contested as independents.

These parties are exploring the possibility of post-poll alliances with rebels as well as smaller parties if needed. However, all this exercise will depend on the results of the election.

Other parties contesting elections in Rajasthan

Other parties contesting the polls in the state include Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Bharat Adivasi Party (BAP), Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP), Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) and CPI(M). While the BJP has not forged any pre-poll alliance, the Congress has left one seat (Bharatpur) for its ally Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD).

Bjp-Congress rebel leaders in Rajasthan

The rebel BJP candidates are Chandrabhan Singh Akya (Chittorgarh), Yunus Khan (Didwana), Kailash Meghwal (Shahpura), Asha Meena (Sawai Madhopur), Ashu Singh Surpura (Jhotwara), Rohitashwa Sharma (Bansur), while the rebel Congress candidates are Virendra Beniwal (Lunkaransar), Gopal Baheti (Pushkar), Ramchandra Saradhana (Virat Nagar) among others.

Rajasthan Assembly Election Results 2018

In the 2018 assembly polls, the Congress had won 199 of the 99 seats and formed the government, while its ally RLD also won one seat. The Congress later won one seat (Ramgarh) where elections were later held due to the death of the BSP candidate.

In September 2019, all six BSP MLAs joined the Congress, strengthening the Congress' position in the Assembly. This time too, elections were held in 200 out of 199 seats in the state. Election to the Karanpur seat in the state has been postponed due to the death of the Congress candidate.

Also read: Rajasthan Election Results 2018: Who is ahead and who is behind in Rajasthan? Candidates' education, earnings, cases will be available on NDTV

Read the full story


Track the latest news of Rajasthan on Get news updates from across the country and around the world. Also, be it the world of entertainment, cricket, lifestyle tips, or unique offbeat news, you'll find it all here – with plenty of photo stories and videos.

Watch the live news:


Rajasthan Election Results Rajasthan Election Results 2023 Elecions Results BJP COngress