Over 69 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the Rajasthan Assembly elections.

Special things

  • Rajasthan recorded a voter turnout of 2018.74 per cent in the 06 elections
  • Gehlot said there was no anti-incumbency wave against the Congress.
  • Lotus will bloom on December 3, says Vasundhara Raje

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2023: Nearly 199 per cent voter turnout was recorded on Saturday for the 69-member Rajasthan Assembly. The main contest in the state is between the Congress and the BJP. Leaders of both parties have expressed hope that their respective parties will get a mandate. Barring sporadic incidents of violence, polling was peaceful, officials said. In the 2018 assembly polls, the state recorded a voter turnout of 74.06 per cent.

Speaking to the media during the day, leaders of the ruling Congress and the main opposition BJP exuded confidence that their party will get the mandate. Chief Minister Gehlot said in Jodhpur that there was no anti-incumbency wave against the Congress and the party would form the government again in the state. "There seems to be an undercurrent. It seems the (Congress) government will be formed again," he said.

Speaking to reporters in Jhalawar, former chief minister Vasundhara Raje took a dig at Gehlot's "undercurrent" remark, saying, "I agree with him. There is indeed an 'under current' but it is in favour of the BJP. On December 3, the lotus (BJP's election symbol) will bloom," he said.

In Jodhpur, Union Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat said, "The BJP is coming to power with an overwhelming majority. This time people will vote keeping in mind the crimes against women, paper leaks and corruption during the five years of Congress rule.

Earlier in the day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge and several other leaders appealed to the people of Rajasthan to vote in large numbers.

Governor Kalraj Mishra, Chief Minister Gehlot, Union Ministers Shekhawat and Kailash Choudhary, former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and former Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot also cast their votes during the voting. Gehlot and Shekhawat voted in Jodhpur, Chaudhary in Balotra, Raje in Jhalawar and Pilot in Jaipur.

BJP state president C P Joshi cast his vote in Chittorgarh and party MPs Diya Kumari and Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore cast their votes in Jaipur. Diya Kumari and Rathore are among the seven BJP MPs contesting the assembly polls.

The final figure of voting will come later

Around 69 per cent voting was recorded till evening, officials said. However, in many places, voters are still in the booth premises, whose final figure of vote percentage will come only after casting their votes. Chief Electoral Officer Praveen Gupta said that as per the guidelines issued by the Election Commission, all the voters who reached the booth premises by <> pm are allowed to cast their votes. However, no new person was allowed to enter the booth premises after <> pm.

Gupta said 68.24 per cent voters had cast their votes till 69 pm. He said that if the percentage of postal ballots is added to it, then the voting percentage becomes more than <> percent.

Around 10 per cent voters exercised their franchise in the first two hours of polling and till 11 am, 25 per cent voting was recorded, while till 40 pm, around 55 per cent voters had cast their votes, an election official said. The voter turnout till 63 pm was 68.24 per cent and <>.<> per cent till <> pm.

Villagers boycott voting in a village

While villagers in one village boycotted polling during the polling, there were minor clashes between supporters of various candidates in some parts, officials said. Charwali village in Pindwara Abu constituency of Sirohi district boycotted voting. The villagers are demanding a change in their gram panchayat and construction of a service road along the highway near their village, an official said. There are 890 voters in the village. The officials tried to convince them to vote.

A team agent killed in Pali district

An agent of a political party died in Rajasthan's Pali district on Saturday, police said. According to officials, the agent, Shanti Lal, probably died due to cardiac arrest. According to officials, Shanti Lal was an agent of a political party at booth number 47 in Sumerpur constituency and fell there. A 62-year-old voter, Satyendra Arora, died of cardiac arrest at a polling booth in Udaipur. Arora fell at the polling station. The family members rushed him to a nearby hospital where doctors declared him brought dead.

Clashes and stone-pelting in Fatehpur and Dholpur

Similarly, in Fatehpur in Sikar, stone-pelting took place after a clash between two groups. The incident took place near a polling booth, police said. Station House Officer Indraj Singh said that a policeman was injured in stone-pelting between two parties at booth number 128.

In Dholpur's Bari seat, a clash broke out between two groups of supporters of two candidates. Dholpur District Magistrate Anil Kumar Agarwal said, "There was an argument between an election agent and another person following which there was stone-pelting and a scuffle outside the polling booth. Two vehicles were damaged. Voting was halted for some time which later resumed," he said.

At the same time, there was a fight between two parties in Fatehpur. Fatehpur Deputy Superintendent of Police Ram Pratap said, "Stones were hurled outside the polling booth. A soldier was injured in stone pelting. No civilian was injured. Five-seven people have been detained."

Two injured in stone-pelting in Sanwaler village

Two persons, including a policeman, were injured in stone-pelting at Sanwaler village in Kaman in Deeg district. Police fired 12 rounds in the air to disperse the crowd. Deeg Superintendent of Police Brijesh Upadhyay said polling was disrupted for a few minutes due to the incident.

At Uniyara in Tonk district, 40-50 people tried to enter the polling booth, Superintendent of Police Rajarshi Raj said.

There was a lot of enthusiasm among the voters about voting. A newly married couple came to cast their vote at Srimadhopur in Sikar. They got married yesterday. In Chittorgarh, a bed-ridden voter was brought to the polling station on a stretcher. Selfie points were set up at polling booths across the state where people, especially young voters, took selfies.

There are a total of 200 seats in the state but the election in Karanpur seat in Ganganagar district has been postponed following the death of Congress candidate Gurmeet Singh Kunnar. There are over 199.5 crore voters and 25,1 candidates in 862 seats in the state.