The Modi Cabinet has approved the Women's Reservation Bill. Now this bill will be introduced in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. This bill can prove to be a test of the unity of the opposition alliance India. In fact, there has never been a consensus among the parties involved in this bill.

Important information related to the case:

  • The Women's Reservation Bill will be introduced in the special session of Parliament that began on Monday. The BJP has asked all its women Lok Sabha MPs to be present in the House during the consideration and voting on the bill.

  • The Women's Reservation Bill can become a big challenge for the opposition alliance India. RJD and SP can oppose this bill

  • While the Congress and the Left parties are in support of this bill, major parties like Lalu Yadav's RJD and Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party have always been opposing its present form.

  • The RJD and the SP have been vehemently opposing the bill demanding quota for backward class women within the 33 per cent quota.

  • In 1997, SP leader Sharad Yadav had opposed the Women's Reservation Bill, saying that only women would benefit from this bill. How will such women represent us?

  • During the UPA regime, the RJD, Samajwadi Party and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party had also opposed the immediate form of the Women's Reservation Bill. However, the BSP is not yet part of the alliance.

  • Nitish Kumar's JDU had earlier opposed this bill. He had said that he would say something on it only after taking a copy of the bill. However, now KC Tyagi has said that JDU will support this bill.

  • When the Women's Reservation Bill was introduced in the UPA government, there was a ruckus at that time. After the uproar by RJD MPs, marshals were called to expel him from the House.

  • Congress is in support of this bill. Taking credit for the Women's Reservation Bill, Congress president Sonia Gandhi said, "This is our own bill.

  • The Women's Reservation Bill, which was introduced 27 years ago by the HD Deve Gowda-led government, will now be introduced in Parliament for the fifth time.