The Council of the European Union announced that it has approved new sanctions against Russia over the war in Ukraine. The new measures include restrictive measures in the field of the economy and against individual citizens. The new decisions aim to better implement the sanctions introduced earlier by preventing their circumvention. The statement said there was a growing circumvention of sanctions.

Everything on the topic:

Russian invasion of Ukraine 10841

It is envisaged that the EU will be able to take rapid, proportionate and targeted actions to deprive Russia of the resources that allow it to continue the war against Ukraine. In the event that measures against individual violators of the sanctions do not lead to the expected result, the EU will be able to unanimously take restrictions on the sale, supply, transfer or export of goods and technology prohibited for export to Russia to offending countries.

It is forbidden to transit through Russia more goods and technologies that can contribute to Russian military and technological progress, to aviation goods and technology or to activities in space, to jet fuel and fuel additives exported from the EU.

The council added another 87 organizations to the list of those that directly supported the Russian military and production complex in the war. They will be subject to stricter export restrictions on dual-use goods and technologies.

The list includes four Iranian organizations that produce drones and provide them to Russia, other foreign organizations involved in circumventing trade sanctions, and some Russian organizations involved in the development, production and supply of electronic parts for the Russian military and industrial complex.

Today's decision expands the list of prohibited goods that could contribute to the technological improvement of Russian defense and security – electronic parts, semiconductors, equipment for the production of electronic integrated circuits and printed circuit boards, energy raw materials and substances for the creation of chemical weapons, navigation aids, metals.

The Council expands the list of Russian media with a revoked license in the EU to include RT Balkan, Oriental Review, Tsargrad, New Eastern Outlook and Katehon. These media are under the constant direct or indirect control of the leadership of the Russian Federation and are used for its continuous and concerted propaganda actions directed against civil society in the EU and neighboring countries, grossly distorting the facts.

The propaganda disseminated by these sources has repeatedly and consistently targeted European political parties, especially during elections, as well as civil society, asylum seekers, Russian ethnic minorities, gender minorities and the work of democratic institutions in the EU. In line with the Charter of Fundamental Rights, these measures will not prevent the media in question and their staff from carrying out activities in the EU other than broadcasting, such as research and interviews.

EU countries reach initial agreement on 11th round of sanctions against Russia

The ban on land transport of goods in the EU by trailers and semi-trailers registered in Russia is extended, including when towed by trucks registered outside Russia. Due to the sharp increase in fraudulent activities with ships carrying crude oil and petroleum products, a ban on access to EU ports for all ships transferring cargo to another ship is introduced if the relevant authorities have reason to suspect violations of the ban on the import of Russian crude oil and petroleum products by sea into the EU. either the transfer of Russian crude oil or petroleum products bought more expensive than the price ceiling introduced by the EU.

The same ban will apply to ships where there are grounds to suspect that they are illegally handling or shutting down their navigation system when transporting Russian crude oil and petroleum products in violation of international agreements, rules and requirements.

Temporary exemptions for Germany and Poland for supplies of crude oil from Russia via the Druzhba oil pipeline are dropped. Oil originating in Kazakhstan or another country will continue to pass through Russia and be imported into the EU via this pipeline, the decision said. The Communication notes that all these measures will be announced in the Official Journal of the EU "soon".

The European Commission said the new sanctions would ban the export to Russia of cars with an engine capacity of more than 1900,<> cubic centimeters, as well as cars with hybrid or electric drive. The sanctions also cover organizations from China, Uzbekistan, the United Arab Emirates, Syria and Armenia.

Russian invasion of Ukraine

Sanctions on Russia