Islamabad: The Pakistan government has banned at least 80 people, including former prime minister Imran Khan and his wife, from leaving the country, according to a media report. This information was given in the media report on Thursday. Khan was arrested on May <> in a corruption case that had triggered violent protests across the country. Since then, several top leaders of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), including its chief Khan, are facing criminal cases.

"The federal government has decided to add the names of 80 people, including PTI chairman Imran Khan and his wife Bushra Bibi, to the no-flying list," Samaa news channel reported.

Besides Khan and Bushra, those on the flight prohibition list include PTI leaders Murad Saeed, Malika Bukhari, Hammad Azhar, Qasim Suri, Asad Qaiser, Yasmin Rashid and Mian Aslam, the channel said. This includes the name of Fawad Chaudhary, who has already left the party.

According to the channel, the names of PTI leaders have been put in the list on the recommendation of the concerned institutions. The police department, the National Accountability Bureau and the anti-corruption department had requested the Home Ministry to include these names in the no-fly list, the report said.

The no-fly list is maintained by the Home Ministry and officials posted at airports and other exit routes are given the names of those who are banned from leaving the country. When Khan was the prime minister, the names of several high-profile people, including Pakistan Muslim League-N leader and current Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, were included in this list.

Read Also:

Photos: When PM Modi suddenly reached the new Parliament building, took stock of each and every thing

PM Modi to install historic 'Sengol' in new Parliament building

(Apart from the headline, this news has not been edited by the NDTV team, it has been published directly from the Syndicate feed.) )