Leonardo Padura.

Photo: File.

The Cuban writer Leonardo Padura, author of the

Tetralogy of the Four Seasons


The Man Who Loved Dogs


The Novel of My Life

, was recognized this Monday afternoon with the Pepe Carvalho Award from the Barcelona BCNegra Festival.

The award ceremony will be on Thursday.

The jury (made up of Ana Abella, Lilian Neuman, Esteve Riambau, Rosa Ribas and Daniel Vázquez Sallés and Carlos Zanón) affirmed that “Padura's is one of the most prominent voices in current Latin American literature.

A voice committed to both literature and Cuba, the great protagonist of his works, whether in his detective novels or in the historical ones, genres in which he moves masterfully, which he hybridizes and transforms, to build a work that is as Cuban as it is universal. ”.

Padura, 2015 Princess of Asturias Award, thanked and remembered the Spanish writer Manuel Vázquez Montalbán, who died in 2003, and the bookseller Paco Camarasa, the festival's first curator, who also died.

Other Pepe Carvalho Award winners have included Don Winslow, Joyce Carol Oates, James Ellroy, Donna Leon, Andrea Camilleri and Claudia Piñeiro.

(With information from Prensa Latina and La Vanguardia)