The official document for membership in the European Union was signed by the President of Kosovo Vjosa Osmani, the Speaker of the Assembly

Glauk Kanjufka

and the Prime Minister

Albin Kurti.

It is expected that the official submission of the application will take place on December 15 in Prague, the Balkan service of Radio Svaboda writes.

Of the 27 EU member states, five still do not recognize the country's independence: Spain, Romania, Cyprus, Greece and Slovakia.

Of the countries in the Western Balkans region, Montenegro and Serbia have made the most progress towards membership in the bloc, opening several new stages in membership talks.

However, Serbia still does not recognize the independence of Kosovo, considers it its territory, and among high-ranking officials there were recently statements that the European Union does not want to accept Serbia into its membership.

This year, North Macedonia and Albania began the negotiation process to join the European Union, and Bosnia and Herzegovina received candidate status this week.

Kosovo is the only country in the region that does not have visa liberalization with the European Union.