Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Uttar Pradesh unit president Bhupendra Singh Chowdhary on Thursday said the results of the bypolls to Mainpuri parliamentary seat and Khatauli assembly seat did not meet his party's expectations and it was too soon to assess the reasons behind it. Same will be reviewed.

The party's press release quoted Chowdhary as saying, "The results of the Mainpuri Lok Sabha and Khatauli assembly bypolls have not been as per our expectation.

We respect the mandate.

In Mainpuri, the SP candidate has got the advantage of the great stature and personality of late Mulayam Singh Yadav.

I congratulate Dimple Yadav ji.

He said that we respect the mandate and we will plan ahead by reviewing where the results have not come as per our expectation.

Chaudhary also thanked the Election Commission and all the personnel involved in the election for conducting fair elections.

He said, "I also congratulate all the party workers, who worked tirelessly in the elections as dedicated soldiers of the party."

Samajwadi Party candidate Dimple Yadav has won the Mainpuri parliamentary seat by defeating her nearest rival Raghuraj Singh Shakya of BJP with a huge margin of 2,88,461 votes.

Madan Bhaiya of RLD defeated his rival Rajkumari Saini of BJP by more than 22,000 votes in Khatauli assembly seat.

However, BJP candidate Akash Saxena won the Rampur assembly seat by defeating SP candidate Aseem Raza by a margin of 33,702 votes.

This is the first time that the BJP has won the Rampur Sadar assembly seat dominated by Muslim voters.

Thanking the people of Rampur, Akash Saxena said, “For the first time after independence, the BJP has won the Rampur assembly seat.

This is the seal of the people on the party's policy of everyone's support, everyone's faith and everyone's effort.” Chaudhary congratulated the people and dedicated BJP workers for the huge victory won by the BJP in the Gujarat Assembly elections.

He said that this great victory is the victory of the efficient leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and National President JP Nadda and the resolve of Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel for public welfare and good governance.

read this also- 

  • Gujarat Election Results: AAP's chief ministerial candidate in Gujarat Isudan Gadhvi lost from Khambhalia seat

  • Shatrughan Sinha said on BJP's historic victory, "It will be known later whether 'Khel-Tamasha' happened or not..."

  • Muslim vote split in Gujarat between AAP and Asaduddin Owaisi's party, BJP's 'balle-balle'

Featured Video Of The Day

Party workers were seen dancing after the landslide victory in Gujarat