There is seven days till October 8 to withdraw the form.

New Delhi:

Former Jharkhand minister K.


Tripathi's nomination papers for the post of Congress president were rejected on Saturday, leading to a direct contest between party leaders Mallikarjun Kharge and Shashi Tharoor.

The three leaders had filed their nomination papers on Friday.

The last date for filing nomination papers was 30 September.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations is October 8 and the final list of candidates will be released on the same day at 5 pm.

Addressing a press conference at the Congress headquarters, Congress's Central Election Authority chief Madhusudan Mistry said that a total of 20 forms were received during the nomination process and four of them have been rejected as there was duplication in signature or it was not matching. was.

It is noteworthy that Kharge had filled 14 forms, while Tharoor had filled five and Tripathi had filled one form.

Mallikarjun Kharge left the post of Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha, 2 names discussed as new leader

Mistry said Tripathi's form has been rejected as the signatures of one of his proposers did not match and that of another proposer had duplication.

He said that till October 8, there is seven days to withdraw the form and after that the picture will be clear.

He said that if any candidate does not withdraw his nomination, then voting will be conducted.

One of the rejected forms was from Tripathi.

Mistry, however, refused to divulge who had filed the other three rejected forms.

Congress's master stoke: Trying to create caste equation by using a unique experiment in the politics of UP

Reacting to the development and sharing the list of valid nominations issued by the Chief Election Authority, Tharoor tweeted, "Glad to learn that after scrutiny, Kharge and I will participate in a friendly contest for the post of Congress President. .

It is a wish that the party and all our allies benefit from this democratic process!'

Delighted to learn that, following scrutiny, Shri @kharge and I will be squaring off in the friendly contest for President of @incIndia.

May the Party and all our colleagues benefit from this democratic process!

— Shashi Tharoor (@ShashiTharoor) October 1, 2022

According to the notification issued by the party on Thursday, the process of filing nominations for the elections was from September 24 to September 30.

If needed, the polling will be held on October 17.

The counting of votes will take place on October 19 and the result will be declared on the same day.

More than nine thousand delegates (delegates) of the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) will vote in the election.

(Except for the headline, this news has not been edited by the NDTV team, it has been published directly from the Syndicate feed.)