The opposition has called the move politically motivated.


The Lucknow Municipal Corporation, dominated by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) at the Center and in the state, has decided to rename several areas after freedom fighters and right-wing ideologues ahead of civic polls later this year.

The opposition has called the move politically motivated.

However, Lucknow Mayor Sanyukta Bhatia said that its aim is to end the symbols of British rule and their legacy and to honor the people who fought for the freedom and progress of the country.

Municipal officials said that the new names were decided in the meeting of the Executive Committee of the Municipal Corporation and they have been sent to the government for approval.

According to the proposals, the names of Hinduist leaders Vinayak Damodar Savarkar, Jan Sangh founder Shyama Prasad Mukherjee and Vishwa Hindu Parishad leader Ashok Singhal have been suggested for the name change.

A proposal to name Burlington Square after Ashok Singhal, known for his staunch Hindu views, has been approved.

Singhal was also playing a leading role in the Ram temple movement in Ayodhya.

Aurangabad will now be called 'Sambhajinagar', Maharashtra government also changed the name of Osmanabad

The Municipal Corporation has named the gate built in Sarvodaya Nagar as 'Swatantra Veer Vinayak Damodar Savarkar Dwar'.

Savarkar was a prominent leader of the Hindu Mahasabha.

The committee has also given green signal to rename Tikoniya Park in Nirala Nagar after Syama Prasad Mookerjee.

The name of Sanjay Gandhi Puram Square has been changed to Chandrashekhar Azad Square.

Apart from this, the name of Viram Khand Ram Bhavan Square has been changed to 'Amar Shaheed Major Kamal Kalia Chauraha' while Azad Nagar Colony Park in Sarojini Nagar has been named after Mangal Pandey, the hero of the first freedom struggle of 1857 against the British.

The intersection near the statue of Maharaja Suheldev Rajbhar in Lalbagh is named after Suheldev.

Suheldev was a king of Shravasti who is known to have defeated and killed Ghazi Mian at Bahraich in 1034 AD.

The Municipal Executive Committee has also approved to name the mini stadium in Rajajipuram after former BJP MLA Suresh Srivastava.

The crossing of Meena Bakery has been renamed after Maulana Mirza Mohammad Athar, former chairman of Shia Personal Law Board of India.

'Mian Ka Bada' railway station becomes 'Mahesh Nagar station' in Rajasthan

Asked whether the name change has been done keeping in mind the upcoming civic polls, the Lucknow Mayor said it should not be associated with politics at all.

He said that many aspects were considered before taking the decision, some names reflect the British heritage, which should be replaced with the names of freedom fighters.

Leader of Opposition in Lucknow Municipal Corporation Syed Yawar Hussain Reshu termed the move as "purely political".

Without naming anyone, the SP leader said, "Many squares and public places have been named after people who had nothing to do with the city or its culture."

"Some of those names are known to promote only a particular ideology," he said.

(Except for the headline, this news has not been edited by the NDTV team, it has been published directly from the Syndicate feed.)