PM Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah.

(file photo)

New Delhi:

JDU chief Nitish Kumar has once again severed his ties with the NDA.

Now Nitish Kumar is going to become the Chief Minister of Bihar for the eighth time by becoming a part of the Grand Alliance again.

JDU is the third party to leave the NDA in the last three years.

Earlier Shiv Sena and Akali Dal had left together.

At the same time, TDP left the alliance before the last Lok Sabha elections. 

With Nitish Kumar breaking the ties, NDA not only lost power in Bihar, but may also have to face trouble in the Rajya Sabha.

In the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of Parliament, the BJP will now have to rely on parties like BJD and YSRC to get important laws passed in the Rajya Sabha.

"Snake entered your house...": BJP leader Giriraj Singh on Lalu Yadav's old tweet on Nitish Kumar

However, even when JDU was part of the NDA, it did not have a majority in the Rajya Sabha.

At present, the total number of MPs in the Rajya Sabha is 237 and the majority figure is 119.

4 from Jammu and Kashmir, one from Tripura and 3 nominated seats are vacant.

The current strength of NDA is 115 including one independent and 5 nominated.

After the exit of JDU, this figure reached 110, which is 9 less than the majority figure.

JDU has 5 MPs in the Rajya Sabha, including Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson Harivansh.

Nitish Kumar will take oath as CM for the eighth time, know when he became the Chief Minister of Bihar - here's the complete timeline

The government can nominate three more people to the Rajya Sabha before the winter session and the BJP can also win the Tripura seat.

But even after this the NDA figure will reach 114 and but the new majority figure will reach 121.

The BJP will need the support of the BJD and the YSRC, which have 9-9 members in the Rajya Sabha, to pass important laws.

However, in the recent Presidential and Vice Presidential elections, BJP got the support of BJD, YSRC, TDP, BSP and Akali Dal.

Ravish Kumar Blog: The one we had with you… was Bihar

Status of NDA in Rajya Sabha

BJP - 91


SDF - 1

RPIA - 1

AGP - 1

PMK - 1

MDMK - 1

Tamil Manila - 1

NPP - 1

MNF - 1

UPPL - 1

IND- 1 Nominated-