The puppet Billy in "Saw X". (Credit: Alexandro Bolaños Escamilla/Lionsgate)

(CNN Spanish) -- After a couple of years of absence, the "Saw" movie franchise is back.

The last film in the saga, "Spiral: From the Book of Saw", was released in 2021 and was an alternate story to the main line of events, although equally related to the classic macabre tortures of the murderer John Kramer or Jigsaw (played by Tobin Bell).

Now, the story will return on Friday, September 29 with "Saw X," the tenth installment in the franchise.

According to Lionsgate, the film's producer, Bell returns to the role of John Kramer in "Saw X." Despite being the 10th film in the saga, the events unfold between "Saw" and "Saw II", which were released in 2004 and 2005, respectively.

The poster of the movie "Saw X". (Credit: Lionsgate)

The plot of "Saw X"

According to Lionsgate's synopsis, it is the most chilling film in the franchise and "explores the untold chapter of Jigsaw's most personal game."


What's going on? Kramer travels to Mexico for a medical procedure that can cure him of the cancer he suffers; However, he realizes that everything is a fraud and that scammers take advantage of the most vulnerable, so he starts his macabre games against them.

But "Saw X" will face the hurdle of all its predecessors: trying to surpass the original 2004 film. According to IMDb ratings, "Saw" is the highest-rated of the franchise's nine films already released with a score of 7.6. All others have a rating ranging from 6.6 down.

Waiting for the premiere on September 29, to see if "Saw X" surpasses "Saw", here we leave you the order you must follow to see the entire saga.

In what order to watch the "Saw" franchise?

According to IMDb, this is the order you should follow so as not to get lost in the "Saw" saga:

  • "Saw" (2004)
  • "Saw X" (2023)
  • "Saw II" (2005)
  • "Saw III" (2006)
  • "Saw IV" (2007)
  • "Saw V" (2008)
  • "Saw VI" (2009)
  • "Saw 3D" (2010)
  • "Jigsaw" (2017)
  • "Spiral" (2021)
  • CineMoviesSaw