The ban on imports of four agricultural products from Ukraine to Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania, Poland and Slovakia expires on June 5 and will no longer be in force from Tuesday, the EC recalled today in Brussels.

Sofia and the other four countries agreed last month with the European Commission to ban imports of wheat, maize, sunflower and rapeseed from Ukraine until June 5, ensuring only the transit of these products through their territory.

There is still no decision to extend the measures, the EC said today. A spokesman for the institution said that European Commission Vice President Valdis Dombrovskis was discussing the situation with the affected countries.

Hungary has not yet lifted some of the unilateral measures imposed, the spokesman said. The repeal of unilateral measures by the countries was a condition for them to receive the second package of financial assistance from the EC amounting to 100 million euros.

From it, Bulgaria can receive 9.77 million euros. From the first package, our country will have 16.7 million euros to support farmers affected by the war in Ukraine and the export of agricultural products from there.

Import ban